sexta-feira, novembro 26

Esquema e resumo.

   The Union Flag, popularly known as the
 Union Jack, is the national flag of the United Kingdom.
    It is called the Union Flag because it symbolises the administrative union of the countries of the 
United Kingdom. It is made up of the individual Flags of three of the Kingdom’s countries -
 England, Scotland and Northern Ireland – all united under one Sovereign, Queen Elizabeth II. As Wales was not a Kingdom but a Principality it could not be included on the flag.
    ’Union Jack’ was officially acknowledged as an alternative name for the Union Flag by the Admiralty and Parliament in the early 20th century. The term ‘jack’ refers to the flag that is flown from the bowsprit of a ship, often denoting nationality.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário